Zone 11 compete in State Interzone championships

The Zone 11 open representative team has been at Port Macquarie competing in the State Interzone Championships.

This championship brings all sixteen zones from across the state together with the cream of the State’s bowlers in attendance.

The side selected was Dave Richardson, Wayne Wright, Keeden McGuire, Matt Sargeant (skip), Noel James, Jason Aurisch, Rex Johnston, Dylan Riley(skip), Steve Matheson, Errol Ruprecht, Steve Harris and Kevin Robinson (skip).

Their first game was against Zone 14 (Mid Lower North Coast). It resulted in a resounding 10-0 win, recording victory on all three rinks. This was the perfect start they needed.

Game two brought the side back to earth against a Zone 12 (Sydney South-West) team bristling with international and state representatives. With the greens getting very quick and a strong, gusty wind blowing, conditions were extremely difficult.

Kevin Robinson’s team were the only winners in a game lost 1-9. This meant all four teams in the section went into the final section game with one win and one loss.

Despite this loss, the side still led our section but at that stage, anyone could win it. The final section game would decide. Their third game was against another strong team from Zone 10 (Sydney North-West).

The side knew they would probably need to win on all rinks to get through. Despite fighting hard, Matt Sargeant was the team’s only winner and they went down 1-9.

Zone 12 won their last game 10-0 and qualified for the semifinal.

Even though Zone 11 was not successful, they did play some good bowls and fought hard.

The opposition from the two Sydney zones were just too good. All players can be proud of their efforts.