It is one of the region's most recognisable landmarks, which spans one of the country's most picturesque waterways - it is the as yet un-named Forster Tuncurry bridge.
And, tomorrow this iconic landmark celebrates the big six O - sadly with no fanfare or official celebration.
The bridge, which spans Cape Hawke Harbour, or the Wallamba River was officially opened on July 18, 1959.
The project to build the bridge began in 1954 when the then Minister for Transport called for tenders to construct a government designed bridge of steel beams and concrete foundations to join Foster and Tuncurry.
Two years later the tender was awarded to well-know Australian construction company, John Holland.
The company began building the first piles in Sydney, while all other work was executed on-site, where up to 60 locals were employed during the construction.
The first test piles were driven into the site in 1957, followed by a further 364 piles as the bridge took shape.
As there was no modern technology back in the mid-1950s massive cranes were positioned at the site.
The bridge was built with one 20 metre high crane and three cranes positioned on three barges.
The massive structure is 631 metres long, consists of 47 pre-stressed spans, and is 13.5 metres wide with 376 pre-stressed concrete beams.
At one time, one of the longest pre-stressed concrete bridges in the Southern Hemisphere, it was officially opened by NSW premier, John Joe Cahill in 1959.
In 2005 pedestrian facilities were upgraded.
The 1.52 metre footpath was upgraded to provide a 2.6 metre shared path, a concrete barrier between the shared path and travel lanes, new lighting and new bridge handrail.
The new shared path also included a viewing area so local residents and visitors can stop and enjoy the view from the bridge.
The bridge provides a vital link between Forster and Tuncurry.
Before the bridge was built a vehicle ferry enabled access between the towns for close to 70 years.
However the travel time was up to 30 minutes.
Today, travel time between the towns using the bridge is now only a few minutes and has changed the way people live and move around in these coastal communities.
The connection between the two towns has helped establish the region as a popular holiday destination on the Mid North Coast and improved the commercial opportunities for those living and working on each side of Wallis Lake.
The bridge in numbers
The bridge is 631 metres long and 13.5 metres wide.
The bridge consists of 47 pre-stressed spans and 376 pre-stressed beams.
The bridge arch sits six metres above the water.
More than 23,000 motorists travel across the bridge each day.