Bowlers hold Bill Taylor memorial day

Overcast weather greeted 104 bowlers from Zone 8 when they held their annual Bill Taylor memorial triples bowls day at Forster Bowling Club.

Forster Bowls president Brian Grace opened proceedings, greeting all and handing the club over to Zone 8 President Charles Fisher who recited the Ode before the day got underway.

The weather was kind to us and all players completed their game, with the usual banter and refreshments.

All players had a great morning of bowls.

On completion, players adjourned to the restaurant for a Chinese smorgasbord and the usual refreshments. It was then on to raffles and handing out prizes.

Bill Taylor was a founding member of Zone 8 and each year this day is played in his honour.

The winners of the day were Warren Flanagan, Barry Duggan and Peter Schroeder.

The other winners were Roger Pike, Allan Hughes and Allan Sweeney, Bertie Whatson, Alan Reeves and Bob Smith, Frank Hooper, Bill Souter and Bob Carr.

Upcoming events

April 10th- Army vs Navy vs Air Force day at Tuncurry Beach Bowling Club.

April 13th- Nominations close RSL / Social fours championships

April 25th- ANZAC DAY