Great Lakes Bridge Club annual presentation

In December the Great Lakes Bridge Club held their annual presentations day followed by a Christmas lunch at the club room in Forster.

Prizes were distributed to the winners of regular club events such as pairs events, various teams events, and hi-lo competitions.

Perpetual trophies were presented for the following major competitions: The president’s trophy which involves playing with a range of different partners throughout the year was presented to Alison McGregor.

The Malcolm Clarke Memorial Trophy was won by Judy Scown and Don Scown.

The Inaugural Greg Simpson Memorial Trophy which was contested over four competition days was closely contested with Carmel Pike taking out first place.

Bill Quinn took out the Colin Hinchcliff Memorial Trophy for the Most Improved Player.

Bill attended lessons and took up playing bridge two years ago at the age of 91.

The encouragement award was presented to Fran Petersen who attended lessons and took up playing early in 2016.

The UHMP competition for players with fewer than 100 master points is a State-wide competition which is promoted by the Australian Bridge Federation.

It involves play on four club days leading up to a finals day which was held late last year.

The competition is scored in separate divisions dependent on the total number of master points held by each player.

This year in the under 99.99 division Barbara Williams and Geoff Unsworth took out second place.

The under 24.99 division was topped by Edward Gao and Morgan Gao, our youngest member at only 13 years. Edward and Morgan also won the complete competition over all divisions.