Zone 11 honours year’s top bowlers

FORSTER’S Keedon Maguire was named the Zone 11 bowler of the year at a presentation held at Forster Bowling Club.

This was Zone 11’s first presentation after it was formed in January this year. 

Newly-elected State president Barry Watkins from Cabramatta Bowling Club was in attendance.  

In a double for the Great Lakes Lewis Williams from Tuncurry Beach was named the junior bowler of the year.

State champion of champion pairs and singles

THE State finals were held at Wagga Wagga Rules Club.

In the pairs the zone representatives  Steve Hinton and George McCartney from Tuncurry Sporties were up against the strong pair of Daniel Mathieson and Michael Cronin from East Cessnock.

After losing six of the first seven ends Zone 11 trailed 1-16.

They never recovered and eventually went down 9-33, with Mathieson and Cronin going on to win the final.

In the singles Keedon McGuire from Forster played Jarrod Duncan from Alder Park in Newcastle.

McGuire jumped out to a 15-5 lead before his opponent fought back, eventually levelling the scores at 22-22.

The lead then changed several times before McGuire won three ends in a row to lead 30-28, with just one shot remaining to win.

His opponent then rallied to score a two and a one to take the match by the narrowest of margins, 31-30.